Books & Arts

The Pulitzers did not pick a winner for cartooning this year. Artists feel ‘mystified’ and ‘insulted.’

This year’s jury in the category consisted of two Pulitzer-winning political cartoonists, two editorial page editors and a comics curator at Columbia University, whose journalism school administers the Pulitzers. Juror Signe Wilkinson, the first woman to win the cartooning Pulitzer, told The Post she delighted in what her group chose. “I don’t see Marty Two Bulls’s and Lalo’s work every day, so to open their portfolios and be bowled over by the power of their pens is why I love this profession.” (Back in 1973, the last time this happened, cartooning finalists weren’t even announced.)


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button