Byron, Lismore, Ballina added to NSW lockdown – Australian Seniors News

New COVID-19 stay-at-home orders will be enforced for the Byron Shire, Richmond Valley, Lismore and Ballina Shire Local Government Areas, effective from 6pm tonight until midnight on August 17, NSW Health announced this afternoon.

Following updated health advice from NSW Chief Health Officer Dr Kerry Chant, stay-at-home orders will apply to all people who live in these areas or have been there on or after 31 July.

The rules for these areas will be the same as those already in place across Greater Sydney, as well as Tamworth, Armidale, Newcastle, Lake Macquarie, Maitland, Port Stephens, Singleton, Dungog, Muswellbrook and Cessnock.

“Everyone in these areas must stay at home unless they have a reasonable excuse to leave. They also cannot have visitors in their home from outside their household, including family and friends,” NSW Health said.

“People still can have one visitor at one time to fulfil carers’ responsibilities or provide care or assistance, or for compassionate reasons, including where two people are in a relationship but do not live together.”

Under the new rules, people also cannot enter the Byron Shire, Richmond Valley, Lismore, and Ballina Shire Local Government Areas, without a reasonable excuse to do so.

“We understand this is a difficult time for the community and appreciate their ongoing patience and cooperation.”

“We are asking people not to seek exceptions to the rules, but to ensure they comply with them so we do not see further cases of COVID-19 in the community,” NSW Health said.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button